CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT
American's enjoy the right that people of many other countries do not, and that is the right to own firearms legally. With this right comes great responsibility. This class is thorough with valuable information and exceeds the minimum standards mandated by law for the permit application process. It is a 4.5 hour required course through the State of Utah. The Utah concealed firearm permit is valid for a period of five years.
Weapon Familiarity Certification: All applicants must complete a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI. No exceptions. The course must be completed before you apply for a permit. Please have your instructor complete the certification information on the application.
Utah Fees: The fees to apply for a concealed firearm permit are $53.25 for Utah residents and $63.25 for non-residents.
When it is time to renew: The Bureau of Criminal Identification will send a renewal reminder letter to you approximately one month prior to your expiration. Be sure to follow all instructions.
Address Change: Let BCI know if you move so they can update their records. If you do not, you may not receive the reminder notice to renew. A concealed firearm permit cannot be renewed more than 90 days before it expires or 1 year later.
Non-Utah applicants must have a conceal carry permit from their home state if that home state has reciprocity with Utah.
For additional details go to www. bci.utah.gov.
Course includes; syllabus, permit application and course completion certificate. The proficiency test and pistol qualification is not required for the State of Utah. This course is a requirement prior to submitting the application for BCI background processing.
$35.00 - UT CWP Initial Course
This course is taught in accordance to the laws of the State of Utah and is taught by Instructors certified through t he State of Utah. The material covered will include; law, responsibilities, ethical considerations, firearms training. This course is a Utah BCI requirement and does not guarantee a CCW permit as it will obviously depend upon background investigations.
Any person who meets the following minimum criteria may apply for a concealed firearm permit:
21 years of age or older.
Must have the training and confidence to carry concealed in public.
Must be able to lawfully possess a firearm.
Must have the ability to understand and demonstrate the responsibility of safe firearm ownership.
Pays Utah State appropriate fee.
As cited in Utah Criminal Code 53-5-704(2), and applicant demonstrates good character if he/she:
(a) has not been convicted of a felony;
(b) has not been convicted of a crime of violence
(c) has not been convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol;
(d) has not been convicted of an offense involving the use of narcotics or other controlled substances;
(e) has not been convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude;
(f) has not been convicted of an offense involving domestic violence;
(g) has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed: and
(h) is qualified to purchase and possess a dangerous weapon and a handgun pursuant to Section 76-10-503 and federal law.
(i) within the last ten years, has not been adjudicated delinquent for an offense which if committed by an adult would have been a violent felony. (Juvenile offenses)
(j) within the last seven years, has not been adjudicated delinquent for an offense which if committed by an adult would have been a felony. (Juvenile offenses)
CHOOSE YOUR CLASS DATE/TIME BY CLICKING "BOOK CLASS ONLINE".
THEN CLICK "BOOK NOW" TO REVIEW CALENDAR.
The best fight you will ever be in is the fight that you avoided.